Home | About Us | Events | Kurnool Relief Fund

Kurnool Flood Relief Fund

A kind and compassionate act is often its own reward

On October 2, 2009, Andhra Pradesh was ravaged by the worst floods in its history killing over 240 people and leaving hundreds of people marooned at several places. The floods, billed as the worst in 100 years, inundated 565 villages in five districts and affected 1.62 million people and damaged over 70,000 houses. Floods in many districts of Andhra Pradesh turned grim as large localities lay submerged with heavy inflow of water in various reservoirs.

Several NGO's poured in to help the flood-affected areas by helping out people living in low-lying areas move to safer regions, providing medical help, food, clothes etc. Spectraforce Technologies India Pvt. Ltd (India) did its part by providing merchandise in the Kurnool village, which was one of the worst affected areas. A contribution of one day salary from all employees of Chandigarh, Hyderabad and Pune branches proved a great help in summing up the donation amount up to Rs.71,000.

A team of five from the Hyderabad office branch [MSS Reddy, Julius Theodore, Amarnath Bhogadi, Vijay Naphade and Jagadeesh Nyalati] visited the Kurnool area on October 12, 2009 personally rather than handing over the merchandise to any agency. The team faced a lot of difficulties in reaching the Kurnool village because the highways and roads remained cut off. A total of 840 merchandise items, which included bed sheets, saris, hand towels and lungi, were donated to the people in the village. These items were packed in small packets and handed over personally to several families.

As Andhra Pradesh battled fresh floods, various NGOs, religious and educational institutions and corporates joined its efforts in rebuilding the lives of more than a million people, who were left homeless. A contribution from the Spectraforce team to the flood-affected people must have made a difference.

Spectraforce Technologies is much obliged to the Chandigarh, Hyderabad and Pune office branch team members for their commendable contribution towards this act.